One Word, One Better Resolution

It’s that time of year again: the one where everyone is resolving to near perfection in the year to come. “I’ll eat nothing but vegetables and grilled chicken, work out everyday and be better about keeping in touch with friends and family.” You know the resolutions I’m talking about. They amount to great ideas, but difficult actions because change is hard. We know this and yet every time January 1st rolls around we commit ourselves to a total overhaul of beneficial changes.

Change takes time and careful effort. It is not something we can achieve overnight. I think this is why resolutions never appealed to me (well that and the fact that EVERYONE is doing it). So when my friend mentioned having a word for the year instead of a list of resolutions, this sparked an instant interest with me. One word. It seems so simple and easy to measure. Something I can actually keep track of instead of a long list of things that will fritter away with time and temptations, because no matter how optimistic I am going in to 2016, I know by the end I will have eaten my fair share of sweets and made some mistakes.

My friend mentioned how hard it was for her to come up with a word, which is why I was so shocked by how quickly mine popped into my head. It was almost immediate and flaunting of its validity and necessity in my life—give. If I were to expand I would say, “let go,” but I’m really trying to stick to the one word thing so give it is. I just realized how overprotective I had become of my time and resources. I guess somewhere along the way of overcommitting myself I swung the complete opposite direction and found myself in the weird place of being under committed.

This year will bring a lot of newness and change into my life with or without my consent. I will graduate college this year and will be shifted into a completely new environment with completely new people. This is not the time to overwhelm myself with resolutions or restrictions, but this is a time to loosen my grip. Without giving my time, saying yes to that new acquaintance who wants to get coffee or agreeing to volunteer to work at a charity race, how can I expect to receive generosity in my own life? It is a cycle after all, and if I want to be in relationships and situations where generosity is a key factor, then I better start practicing it myself. After all, what goes around really does come back around.

